To blog or not to blog

… it’s a difficult one.  There are so many bloggers out there.  Do I really want to pollute the blogosphere with my opinions, prejudices and rants?  Let’s face it, I get really irritated when I read blogs that would be rejected by the letters page of any local newspaper on the grounds of bigotry, stupidity or just plain crassness.  Yet if I meekly rule myself out of the process I am denying myself a voice which after all is the positive side of blogging.  So I am going for it.

I’ve been writing ever since I can remember – from scratching away in school notebooks at primary school to present day, writing articles, novels and short stories.  My first job in London was in a PR agency and I was promoted to Press Officer after only a few months in post .  (I’d like to say this was due to my extreme maturity, hard work and talent but it really wasn’t. My boss who was press officer at the time ran away with another woman and sadly we didn’t live in such enlightened times then.  I was given the task of filling in for her until another press officer could be found and they never bothered to do that… I was 15 years old at the time!  They liked introducing me to new clients as ‘the youngest Press Officer in the country’.

So I wrote press releases all day, every day.  It was great training.  Over the years I have written articles, academic essays, novels and short stories.  I have worked as an editor for a business publishing company and compiled and updated manuals for management.  I have researched both fiction and non-fiction works for other authors and was a freelance proof reader and copy editor while my children were growing up. Recently I completed a Masters Degree with the University of Birmingham in Shakespeare, Stratford and the Cultural History of Renaissance England (MASSaCHRE for short – if you read my dissertation you can draw your own conclusions!).

I am currently writing history based articles and a full length novel based on my dissertation research.

In the last few months I have started a group for writers in Stratford-upon-Avon.  There already exist writing classes and writing circles locally but I wanted to meet up with others whose aims were for getting their work into print.  These days its such an uphill task to get anything published that I felt a little mutual support amongst people who were prepared to share market information and goodwill could only be a GOOD THING.  So far the response has been very positive.

So…onward and upwards… I have decided to blog!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

